Perennial Meditations
Perennial Meditations
The Philosopher's Seclusion
0:00
-5:50

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Perennial Meditations

The Philosopher's Seclusion

Sundays with Seneca
1
Charles Street, Boston by Maurice Pendergast (1895)

🏛️ Sundays with Seneca

Sundays with Seneca explores Lucius Annaeus Seneca's writings and Stoic philosophy. Each week, I share a selected reading from one of Seneca's letters in search of ancient lessons on the art of living.

The Philosopher’s Seclusion

In a letter to Lucilius known today as On the Philosopher’s Seclusion, Seneca wrote,

‘Do you bid me,’ you say, ‘shun the throng, and withdraw from men, and be content with my own conscience? Where are the counsels of your school, which order a man to die in the midst of active work?’ As to the course which I seem to you to be urging on you now and then, my object in shutting myself up and locking the door is to be able to help a greater number. I never spend a day in idleness; I appropriate even a part of the night for study. I do not allow time for sleep but yield to it when I must, and when my eyes are wearied with waking and ready to fall shut, I keep them at their task.

I have withdrawn not only from men, but from affairs, especially from my own affairs; I am working for later generations, writing down some ideas that may be of assistance to them. There are certain wholesome counsels, which may be compared to prescriptions of useful drugs; these I am putting into writing; for I have found them helpful in ministering to my own sores, which, if not wholly cured, have at any rate ceased to spread.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Perennial Meditations to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Perennial Meditations
Perennial Meditations
Welcome to The Perennial Meditations podcast with J.W. Bertolotti from the Perennial Leader Project. Perennial Meditations brings you short reflections on ancient wisdom for everyday life. Each reflection is based on ancient philosophical and spiritual traditions designed to help you live your highest good. To learn more, visit perennialleader.com