Perennial Meditations
Perennial Meditations
How to Love Life
0:00
-9:06

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Perennial Meditations

How to Love Life

Sundays with Seneca
The Oldest, the Wisest by Nicholas Roerich (Public domain)

🏛️ Sundays with Seneca

Sundays with Seneca explores Lucius Annaeus Seneca's writings and Stoic philosophy. Each week, I share a selected reading from one of Seneca's letters in search of ancient lessons on the art of living.

How to Love Life

In a letter to Lucilius known today as On Old Age, Seneca wrote,

Wherever I turn, I see evidence of my advancing years. Recently, I visited my country place and protested against the money spent on the tumble-down building. My bailiff maintained that the flaws were not due to his own carelessness; “he was doing everything possible, but the house was old.” And this was the house that grew under my own hands! What has the future in store for me if stones of my own age are already crumbling?

I was angry, and I embraced the first opportunity to vent my spleen in the bailiff’s presence. “It is clear,” I cried, “that these plane trees are neglected; they have no leaves. Their branches are so gnarled and shriveled; the boles are so rough and unkempt! This would not happen if someone loosened the earth at their feet and watered them.” The bailiff swore by my protecting deity that “he was doing everything possible and never relaxed his efforts, but those trees were old.” Between you and me, I had planted those trees myself; I had seen them in their first leaf. …

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Perennial Meditations to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Perennial Meditations
Perennial Meditations
Perennial Meditations is a podcast (and Newsletter) by the Perennial Leader Project; an organization dedicated to providing tools for the art of living. Consider becoming a member to support the mission and gain full access to our meditations, podcasts, and courses. To learn more, visit perennial.substack.com.