Perennial Meditations
Perennial Meditations
Seneca - On Living to Oneself
0:00
-5:13

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Perennial Meditations

Seneca - On Living to Oneself

Sundays with Seneca
Herdsman by Constant Troyon (Public domain)

Sundays with Seneca

Welcome to Sundays with Seneca on the Perennial Meditations podcast. Join the search for ancient lessons on the art of living from Lucius Annaeus Seneca's writings and Stoic philosophy.

On Living to Oneself

In a letter to Lucilius known today as On Living to Oneself, Seneca wrote,

Yes, I do not change my opinion: avoid the many, avoid the few, avoid even the individual. I know of no one with whom I should be willing to have you shared. And see what an opinion of you I have; for I dare to trust you with your own self. Crates, they say, the disciple of the very Stilbo whom I mentioned in a former letter, noticed a young man walking by himself and asked him what he was doing all alone. “I am communing with myself,” replied the youth. “Pray be careful, then,” said Crates, “and take good heed; you are communing with a bad man!”

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Perennial Meditations to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Perennial Meditations
Perennial Meditations
Welcome to The Perennial Meditations podcast with J.W. Bertolotti from the Perennial Leader Project. Perennial Meditations brings you short reflections on ancient wisdom for everyday life. Each reflection is based on ancient philosophical and spiritual traditions designed to help you live your highest good. To learn more, visit perennialleader.com