Perennial Meditations
Perennial Meditations
On the Diseases of the Soul
0:00
-7:10

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Perennial Meditations

On the Diseases of the Soul

Sundays with Seneca
Hope by George Frederick Watts (1886)

Perennial Meditations is a reader-supported publication. To support the mission, consider becoming a paid subscriber.

Sundays with Seneca

Welcome to Sundays with Seneca on the Perennial Meditations podcast. Join the search for ancient lessons on the art of living from the writings and Stoic philosophy of Lucius Annaeus Seneca.

Today’s meditation is available to paid subscribers. If you’d like access to our Daily Meditations (and Courses) on the Art of Living, along with The Wisdom School (a private podcast), consider becoming a member today.

On the Diseases of the Soul

In a letter known today as On the Diseases of the Soul, Seneca wrote,

You have been complaining that my letters to you are rather carelessly written. Now who talks carefully unless he also desires to talk affectedly? I prefer that my letters should be just what my conversation would be if you and I were sitting in one another’s company or taking walks together, spontaneous and easy; for my letters have nothing strained or artificial about them.

If it were possible, I should prefer to show, rather than speak, my feelings. Even if I were arguing a point, I should not stamp my foot, or toss my arms about, or raise my voice; but I should leave that sort of thing to the orator, and should be content to have conveyed my feelings to you without having either embellished them or lowered their dignity.

I should like to convince you entirely of this one fact—that I feel whatever I say, that I not only feel it, but am wedded to it. […]

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Perennial Meditations to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Perennial Meditations
Perennial Meditations
Welcome to The Perennial Meditations podcast with J.W. Bertolotti from the Perennial Leader Project. Perennial Meditations brings you short reflections on ancient wisdom for everyday life. Each reflection is based on ancient philosophical and spiritual traditions designed to help you live your highest good. To learn more, visit perennialleader.com