Perennial Meditations
Perennial Meditations
Actions Unworthy of the Philosopher
0:00
-7:51

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Perennial Meditations

Actions Unworthy of the Philosopher

No one can live happily who has regard for himself alone
Philosopher by Henri Martin (Public domain)

Perennial Meditations is a reader-supported publication. To support the mission, consider becoming a subscriber.

Welcome to Sundays with Seneca on the Perennial Meditations podcast. Join the search for ancient lessons for modern living in the writing and Stoic philosophy of Lucius Annaeus Seneca.

In a letter known today as On Quibbling as Unworthy of the Philosopher, Seneca wrote,

In answer to the letter you wrote me while traveling—a letter as long as the journey itself—I shall reply later. I ought to go into retirement and consider what sort of advice I should give you. For you yourself, who consult me, also reflected for a long time whether to do so; how much more, then, should I myself reflect, since more deliberation is necessary for settling than in propounding a problem! And this is particularly true when one thing is advantageous to you and another to me. Am I speaking again in the guise of an Epicurean?

But the fact is, the same thing is advantageous to me, which is advantageous to you; for I am not your friend unless whatever is at issue concerning you is my concern also. Friendship produces between us a partnership in all our interests. There is no such thing as a good or bad fortune for the individual; we live in common. And no one can live happily who has regard for himself alone and transforms everything into a question of his own utility; you must live for your neighbor if you would live for yourself.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Perennial Meditations to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Perennial Meditations
Perennial Meditations
Welcome to The Perennial Meditations podcast with J.W. Bertolotti from the Perennial Leader Project. Perennial Meditations brings you short reflections on ancient wisdom for everyday life. Each reflection is based on ancient philosophical and spiritual traditions designed to help you live your highest good. To learn more, visit perennialleader.com